Toby – Life with a new puppy

Formally known as Red Mallow Pepper – A Hungarian Vizsla

Training having some effect… (Week 19)

Posted by Admin on 6, May 2008

or are we just getting used to Toby:-)

 

What a busy 10 days.  Hubby was in USA all last week, so it was just Toby me in control.  Teenage daughters were more trouble than helpful, but thats another story.

Toby is coming along in leaps and bounds.  His plus points are:

BED/CRATE 
He is brilliant and getting in his “bed” (crate).  He never complains and is very happy to be left alone.  The same is true in the mornings, he does not bark etc to be let out of his crate and just sits happily waiting for some-one to come into the room.

EATING/FOOD
He is eating his food like a really hungry hunter – he was skipping the odd meal, but now eats the lot with gusto.  He is brilliant at sitting and waiting for me to say “take” and will allow me to put my hand in the bowl without biting or growling etc.

He is still eating sheep poo, fox poo, rabitt poo etc.  If he finds something unspeakable he tries to roll in it – its gross :-(.  However, he does seem to be eating less (or maybe I am learning to steer him clear of it more).  I spend forever saying “drop it” which he will do – but only when a) he feels like it and b) when he has decided he’s finished with whatever it is I want him to drop.

SIT/STAY/DOWN
Toby deserves a gold star for this.  He will do all these of these commands instantly and always (well almost always) perform on demand.  He has improved hugely in this area and now will do this even in the outside world with all its many distractions

WALKING TO HEAL
Another triumph for Toby – when I first put the lead on him he thinks he should help me by carrying the lead in his mouth – this he does for the first 50 yds.  Then he will happily walk to heal whilst on the road.  Once we enter a field he tries to get ahead of me and pulls the extender lead but always comes back to heal when forced to.  He rarely pulls on the lead and is a super duper star 🙂

COME/RECALL
This is a bit hit and miss.  He will come when called, but charges straight past me 8 out of 10 recalls.  Other times he rushes up and sits down (which is what I am taught teaching him to do.).  Other times he is completely deaf, dumb and blind to this instruction – we need to spend more time on this one sadly.

After that glowing reports, sadly he is not perfect just yet and here are the areas still to be improved:

BITING/CHEWING
Toby NEVER STOPS BITING :-(.  I am sure he is getting much better and biting less often, but then I look at my right arm and realise that this cannot be true.  The only time he is not chewing a stone, biting my arm, chewing his toys, eating leaves etc etc etc is when he is asleep.  He never stops – NEVER EVER.  His bite is now very soft.  However he always tried to bite/chew me when I put his lead on him –  for the last few days he has not done this, so he really is getting better

JUMPING UP PEOPLE
This is not going well at all!  Toby sees other people and just cannot resist the temptation to say hello.  Muddy paws, soaking wet, slobbery chops – you name it he jumps.  All the shouting and pulling in the world does not seem to help.  We are working on this one, but its not easy as “outsiders” think he’s cute and bend down to him, which he sees as an excuse to jump UP at them.  I am sure his “puppy permit” will run out soon as people will not be so keen as he gets bigger.  Also jumping in the face of other dogs is going to wear a little thin and they will not be happy – will he ever get out of this habit I wonder?

JUMPING UP SOFA/WORK SURACES
Toby can now reach all of the work surfaces in the kitchen and feels its his duty to lick them and try and steal anything on them (food, dishcloths, teatowels, cutlery etc).  I must say the word “Toby OFF” a million times a day.  I push him down but he still thinks I can’t possibly mean not to jump up.  He is spending as much time on 2 legs these days as 4 🙂  All the shouting OFF and pushing him down in the world has no effect whatsoever.  This is driving me crazy but will keep at it – surely he will understand one day – won’t he?

THE SOFA – We decided that, as with our previous dog he would not be allowed on the sofa, he has his own “bed” right by the radiator/sofa and its thick, warm and cosy as can be. I have NEVER EVER seen such determination in either a human or a dog to get onto the sofa.  Somedays I feel like the England goalkeeper, guarding the sofa and moving from one end to the other to keep Toby off.  He then races off into the kitchen so that he can so the charge of the light brigade and comes charging into the family room and dives for the sofa.  IF he makes it onto the sofa, he pushes himself into the corner and curls up or puts his back to me (I think he has a childs mentality that goes ..”if I can’t see you, then you can’t see me…” )  HE absolutely refuses to move.  I then try and get hold of him and he growls and bites and is very unhappy to be moved.  He is at his worst with me, but even hubby fails to keep this dog on the ground.  Much shouting, pushing him off etc seems to be failing.  Last week whilst on my own I was on the edge of giving in and just letting him have a chair of his own.  I decided not to be beaten and will working on this one – this is the hardest.  HE IS VERY VERY DETERMINED ON THIS ISSUE.  When I hae reached the end of my tether and say “thats it – in your bed,” he then jumps onto his blankey for 2 minutes (i think just to catch his breath for the next onslaught)..  I am exhausted So far Toby is winning this battle.

So, overall he is coming along in leaps and bounds once we solve the biting and jumping issues we can concentrate on his personality and the joys he brings.

I had forgotten just how much hard work, tears and joy a puppy brings into your life.

WOULD NOT BE WITHOUT HIM!!!!

3 Responses to “Training having some effect… (Week 19)”

  1. Rocket Man said

    Toby my man….. it sounds like you are right on schedule with everything.

  2. Buster said

    My dear extremely young Toby,

    Determination? Check.
    Incessant chewing and biting? Check.
    Insatiable curiosity? Check.
    Jumping up? Check.
    Erratic recall? Check.
    Pan-species poop eating? Check.
    Tyrant in the making? Check.

    I see you’ve mastered the fundamentals of being a vizsla puppy. Congratulations!

    A word to the wise: every so often, let Them win. They’re much happier that way.

    Maturely yrs.,
    B3

  3. James said

    I roared with laughter. My Vizsla puppy is named Cody. He was born on June 8th and is now 3 1/2 months old. I must add a few things. As the poster above yes, Roger that on all the issues you describe. Same thing here with a few funny modifications. I watched the famous Cesar Millan http://www.cesarmillaninc.com/ the expert on all things dog. He said, step in front of the item the dog is jumping on or wants and be a “pack leader” and take ownership of the item. Most of all he says you must be be a calm-assertive pack leaders. So I stood in front of the item and was calm but assertive and said “NO”. Well Cody lowered his head in a submissive fashion and I was so proud of myself and was about to say WOW, look at that and then he kept his head down and only raised his eyes to look at me and barked and then barked again. His submission was not complete and he was testing me and saying, “I know you are my pack leader but I dont like that you dont want me to have this thing I want.

    After about 4 minutes of this, he got up and ran around is circles, returning to the place in front of me and lowered his head and again continued to bark. I finally gave up and just picked him up and took him to the sofa and put him in my lap, he immediately forgot about our little feud and stand off and lovingly began to lick my face.

    Yes be bites and sometimes bites TOO HARD. Usually a loud OUCH gets him to realize it was a bit to hard and he relaxes but not always. This breed is magnetic and as many know like velcro and you just cant get enough.

    I did learn that he needs lots of EXERCISE but I did not like the idea of letting him free in the back yard, even though it is fenced in for fear that he may eat something that could hurt him and I cant run as fast as he can to catch him. Today was a huge victory, I bought a harness and a retractible leash. 26 footer. What an amazing difference. Now I have total control of his movement and I was throwing a ball and he was tearing out after it and bringing it back. It was a blast. I did it for about 1 hour and he and I loved it. The leash enabled me to let him run FREE (at least he thought he was free) and if he started doing something or eating something, I could kind of reel him in 🙂 it was great. Now I am looking for a trainer but that is a whole different story. Many say I can do it for $1500 in 2 months. Another says I can do it in 7 days for $1000 and I am still shopping around. Some say leave him here (Yea right !) Others say take him to us everyday like school. So many variations and I am still doing my homework. Any one have any ideas ? How old should he be to start training him ? How about a simple puppy school. The only thing I have him doing is he will sit on command. I am impressed but that is just me. Forget about anything else

Leave a Reply

 
